Wednesday, January 18, 2012

And We Grow

Our family has grown to ... TWELVE!  Yikes!  The doe we got last week was apparently pregnant.  Wish they would have told us, but thankfully B went down first thing in the morning to check them.  The kits had been pushed out, either by the buck (Stitch) or by the mama (Lilo) trying to protect them.  The other fortunate thing was that we'd finished the big hutch yesterday and it has a box for the babies.  We got them moved over and we're hopeful that all four will survive!  P is overjoyed except he doesn't understand why he can't hold them yet.

Mama feeding her littles
Lilo seems to be pretty calm and we think she's fed them.  B starts school today, so P and I are going to head in with him to pick up a few things for her.  And, we'll need to build another hutch in the next month or so to separate all of the bunnies out.  I think 6 bunnies is plenty!!  I'll get better pictures soon to share, but here is one of Lilo in the box feeding the kits! :)

Our 4 little kits

So, today has been a big learning day.  I learned that bucks don't normally kill their young ... on purpose, that is.  Often when they do kill their young it's because they've trampled them or shoved them somewhere unsafe (like onto the basement tile :/) because they're trying to mate again.  Horny little devils!  After sharing this information with the rest of the family, I found out that Stitch was indeed  mating poor Lilo.  Which means that it is entirely possibly the poor doe is already pregnant again.  We will be making another hutch in the next few days, maybe two of them, so that we can separate the kits out as the grow and to also leave this hutch open for Lilo if she does have another litter.  Looks like we may have some Easter bunnies to share!  There are a few kids on our street that may enjoy a bunny and, if not, we'll try and find other homes (in the event there are more growing).  

I learned how to feel (palpate) for the babies, though, I'm not sure if I'll be able to feel it the first time, we'll see.  But, that might help to know.  And, this time we'll at least be aware and watching her behavior in about 28 days which is when she should start nesting.

I thought I'd share in a little more detail how the last few days have been.  Since we've only had the buns for a week, they're still getting used to us.  P spends a lot of time downstairs with them so even though he's a lot more rambunctious than any of the rest of us, they are far more comfortable with him.  While they run from me, I usually don't have too much trouble catching them to put them back into their cage.  However, the past couple of nights, Lilo has been a terror.  In fact, 2 nights ago she was so adamant about not letting me near her, she ran right into the leg of a table.  I was surprised she didn't knock herself out and left her for another hour.  Then, yesterday afternoon, P came upstairs and said that she'd ripped up a book (just an old book from his pre-k that was only paper).  She had shredded it in a corner next to a bookcase in the schoolroom and I should have known.  But, I just assumed that she was trying to make a nest, not for babies, but because she didn't want to go back into the cage.  I cleaned it all up and tucked them in for the night.

This morning B's sister saw the food container in the middle of the cage, empty.  She came up and told Ben and he went down to get it.  When he got to the cage he saw the babies outside on the floor.  Trying to be funny (and I think a little excited ;)) he ran upstairs and meant to slide into the living room to get his mom.  But, he overshot it and fell!  So silly!  She got downstairs and pulled Lilo out and put her into a little canvas container I have for odds and ends.  Lilo had pulled plenty of her fur out, but it was also pushed out.  So, M got the babies tucked in near mom and covered them up with the fur.  Surprisingly, Lilo seemed fairly content in the little container for the time it took to get the hutch in.

B came up to wake me up to help ... at first I thought he was saying there was a storm and the hutch had blown away.  But, then I realized what he was saying and P woke up to hear there were new babies!  B and his dad had to take off the nesting box trying to get the hutch downstairs.  It was turning in to a mess and I realized there was just no point.  The hutch could find a place in the living room.  And it did!  Maybe not the most stylish piece of living room furniture, but we're all enthralled with these little creatures that it is the absolute perfect spot for it!

Lilo is doing perfect.  She's still pretty anxious, though, since we got her pregnant, it's hard to tell what her non-bred personality is yet.  But, most important is that she isn't smothering the kits and she's eating.  She's also been far more calm with me.  She still jumps and sometimes hops off if I pet her, but she knows that I'm the one bringing her treats, so often she waits to see if I have food or not, if I do, she'll either eat it out of my hand or just go about her business while I set it out for her.  The kits seem to be fed, though, I learned that her milk may not come in for up to 48 hrs and to give her that much time to see if they are getting fed.  I've been told that their bellies should be slightly round and they shouldn't be wrinkly.  But, I'm thinking that's relative right now.  I mean, they're tiny and hairless ... how can they NOT be wrinkly!?  So, we'll see how they're doing by tomorrow night and if they seem to be skinny, we'll hand feed them.  

So, so cool!!!  Welcome to the farm!! =D

Friday, January 13, 2012

They Say it Snows

But, it sure has been nice this past week!  Today we did A LOT of yard work.  I feel like I was run over by a truck, but it felt so good to be out there working!  My in-laws built the rabbit hutch, P and I cleaned up the yard (but, mostly he just rode his bike "delivering" things to everyone!) and B fixed the brakes on the truck and cleared out the old firepit and cleaned the chimney ... yikes!

There is, for some reason, a ton of metal, glass, screws, pipes, wood, etc, out in the yard.  Mostly it seems to be in the firepit area and behind our garage.  So, I cleared out behind the garage and then we started pulling all of the volcanic rock and flagstone that was around the massive pit.  B shoveled all of the junk I couldn't pick up (small pieces) and we'll take it all to the dump.  Tomorrow we're going to clear out a new, smaller fire pit (seriously, it was probably 8 feet in diameter, at least!).  We also need to paint the bunny hutch and cover it in chicken wire.  I'm thinking they'll go outside during the day for fresh air and sunshine and
No, the ladder does not actually reach the roof ...
then come back inside at night.

Then, B had to climb up to the roof to take off the top of the chimney and clean it.  Lately the smoke hasn't been going out unless it's been a windy day.  No good!  But, to see him up on the roof ... scary!  Our house is covered with metal and two stories, not to mention the ground is very uneven and covered in rocks!  Yikes!  But, he was safe and the fireplace is working like it should ... phew!


Onto gardening ... we planted several herbs and flowers the other day, along with two lettuce varieties and some giant pumpkins!  I really love the peat seed starters, but no seedlings in there yet!  The lettuce is a cold weather veggie, so I started those in a long window box and was surprised to see a bunch of those guys growing!  I can't wait to be able to pick the food we've grown ourselves!

Still working on a plan for the outside garden.  We're thinking we can start the greenhouse sometime in March or so.  I don't think it should take more than a couple of weekends to build, so hopefully we'll have our garden growing in April ... yes!

Romaine and Butter lettuce growing away!
A long day has been had here, so time for bed for this newbie homesteader!  Oh, quick bunny funny.  Tonight when we were putting the bunnies to bed, the male hopped right up on the female ... well, P was wondering what the funny looks were from us, so, we gave a 5 yr old version of bunny love.  He immediately goes upstairs and says, "Papa, the brown bunny climbed on the black bunny and that's how they make baby bunnies."  He was just so serious, like he was passing on such important information!  No denying it ... I adore that kid!!



Thursday, January 12, 2012

Meet the Buns!

Mommy, Lilo and P


Stitch (m) on the left, Lilo (f) on the right
We would like you to meet the newest editions to the family ... Lilo and Stitch!  They are SO stinking cute and cuddly!  Terrified at the moment, but getting more and more comfortable as we get to know them and they us!  Pagan is not so sure of them yet and they seem to be happy to tease him as long as they are safe in their (temporary) home.  He got down to play with them.  I'm thinking he is convinced that we have discovered and procured moving squeak toys for him ... so, for the time being we keep him away when they're out LOL

Lilo
P adores them.  If he could cuddle up and sleep with them and Pagan, he would be the happiest boy ... until, of course, he decided he needed even more fluffy babies right next to him!

We are going to finish up the hutch tomorrow, BUT, I'm not so sure about leaving them outside.  Completely outside is a no go because of our vast coyote population, but the garage isn't used for vehicles (except the motorcycle), so they'd be safe there.  I'm just not sold on the idea.  Maybe if we have 10 bunnies one day, but for now I can't see why they aren't good in the basement.  We tried them in our room last night and me and Pagan jumped every time they made noise ... for different reasons, I'm sure!  I was sure he'd go poking around the cage and I think he was sure of it too LOL  So, no bedroom.  But, he won't go downstairs and that is where P's toys are, so he likes it.

Stitch
Yesterday we had a hell of a time trying to catch them and this morning was even worse ... I'm not kidding, they would get to the middle of the bed (underneath) and go to sleep, somehow knowing we couldn't reach them!  That's the other reason we took them downstairs.  There are places for them to hide, but nowhere that we can't get to.  And, by bedtime tonight they barely tried to get away.  Progress!

It was funny hearing P yelling, "Don't forget, Daddy, the poop goes in the compost!" LOL  So funny!



Monday, January 9, 2012

Soap, soap, soap part 1

I thought I'd do a quick blog about the soaps I use. I've had a couple of people ask about it and I thought it was a blogging opportunity!

So, first off ... laundry detergent.  You can find liquid recipes online, but I'm all about quick and easy. Liquid takes a bit longer to make, at least that's the impression I get from the recipes. And there's an extra step when you use it because it needs to be mixd  up as the ingredients seperate. I've used this recipe for about 2 years now and I can honestly say I can't see myself ever going back. Our skin has adjusted and can't take the harsh chemicals anymore.  So, here's the recipe:
1 cup borax
1 cup washing soda
1/2-1 bar fels naptha grated

All three can be found near the laundry detergent at supermarkets. You can substitute homemade soap or Zote for Fels Naptha.  I've also seen recipes which use Ivory.  Borax and washing soda are $2-3ish for each and about $1 for the Fels.  I also add in about 1/2 cup oxi-clean because my child likes mud and hasn't figured out what the napkin on his lap is for. Honestly, he will hold the napkin and still wipe his mouth on his sleeve!  So, while I might someday like to leave out the oxi-clean, the help with stains is necessary now.  You can also add in a drop or two of an essential oil if you'd like.  Tea tree is nice because of it's antibacterial properties or you could add something for a scent.

So, grate the soap, add all ingredients into some type of container with a lid (we use an empty folgers can), shake it up and use 1/8-1/4 cup per load.  I usually double the recipe and for the 3 of us, I might have to make a new batch once a month. Oh, do not expect bubbles! I suggest filling your washer 1/4 to 1/2 full, add detergent and then let it fill a little more, if not the whole way, before adding clothes. It gives your detergent time to dissolve in the water.

Now for bar soap. First, you may want to have a peek at my soaping blog to see a bit of how I got started.  If you have never soaped before, start with melt and pour soap. I buy my supplies from www.brambleberry.com. You can also get melt and pour soap from places like Hobby Lobby, though the quality is very different. Try it out, see if you like it. If you do, watch the soap tutorials on soapqueentv.com and make sure you learn a healthy respect for lye.  Don't be afraid, though!

I am realizing that I'm just not going to get through the soaping instructions before I crash, so I'll aim to post a recipe and directions tomorrow!

Happy Full Moon!

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

2012 ... whatcha got??

So, now it's time to talk about our goals ... YES!  We have been headed here for quite a long time.  We bought a house in Texas and made a safe decision, rather than the choice we truly had wanted.  It wouldn't have been the right place anyway at the time.  (To clarify, we bought our Texas house a few years ago and my point is that we took the safe choice with a new house in a subdivision rather than the house out in the country.) But, it does mean that we've been thinking and dreaming of this life for a while.  This is one of those things that almost feels like an unattainable dream.  In fact, it still does a bit!  So, where is it we want to be next year?  Where are we going and what's the point?

Now, I'm not a big survivalist (can't promise I won't be in a year, though lol), but there is something that sounds really nice about living "off the grid" and you just never know when that zombie apocalypse is going to hit! LOL  Not to mention that B and I are both people who care a lot about our environment. I'm feeling a little flighty (so much going on and to prepare for!), so let me break this down.  In my last post I talked a little bit about what we've left behind.  Tonight I'll share about the fantastic changes we are excited to make!  First, what have we already done?

1. Recycling everything we can!  This isn't a new thing, but we are far more conscious about it.  Teaching P about why we recycle and what we recycle has brought it to the forefront of our minds which is amazing.  We have a little red bucket just outside the kitchen and he absolutely loves to hop up onto the sink, rinse a pop can, and toss it into the bucket.  We don't have a large enough pile yet, but eventually we'll turn them in (who knew you could get money back for them?!  Not me! lol).

2. COMPOST!!  Yippee!  I have been looking forward to this for a very long time!  We have a small garbage can next to our sink and in goes the coffee grounds and lots of (allowable) kitchen scraps.  Then, (for the time being) it goes out into a large, black garbage can at the end of the day ... it's nearly full after a couple of months!  I go out a couple of times per week with a big shovel and stir it up.  Hopefully soon we'll have a compost area behind our garage (where the garden hoophouse will be) which will give us a much larger compost pile for our garden.

3. Heat with wood, something that was mentioned previously.  Now, as residents here (have I mentioned yet that we basically live in a national forest??) we are allowed 5 cords of wood free.  Beyond that we can purchase 10, I believe, permits for $20 which allow 4 cords, per permit.  We think that the 5 cords will do us fine for the year ... possibly 6.  The great thing is that the cords we cut from the permits can be sold.  $150 per cord is actually a very good price, so I think we'll be doing some lumberjack weekends!  Anyway, most of our heat comes from our fireplace.  The heater goes on for about 10 minutes in the morning while the fire is started to pull the chill from the air.  And, that's about it.  We have small heaters in the four bedrooms we use and the two bathrooms, however, the bedroom heaters really aren't used much and usually bathroom heaters aren't on unless someone is showering.  In fact, when the fireplace goes on around 4:30p, we have to cover half of our loft opening or the upstairs is sweltering!

4. Homemade soap and laundry detergent.  Another item that isn't new to us.  We've been using both for almost two years now.  I forgot my laundry ingredients when we moved early in December and my mother-in-law had run out.  It was a long two weeks until my parents came for Christmas.  The first thing everyone looked for was the homemade detergent.  Our skin was dryer and a couple of people were having skin irritation to the store detergent.  It is amazing how our bodies had changed and no longer wanted anything to do with the chemicals (and my in-laws had only been consistently using my detergent for a couple of months).  And, who would choose store-bought soap when they could use a bar of soap that was handmade?!  I mean, I've had people buy my soap for $4 or more and I've bought a $6 bar of soap a time or two!  It's worth it!  It feels amazing and leaves your skin feeling gooood!  Not to mention just how FUN it is to make soap.  Making detergent isn't all that fun, but soaping .... *sigh* Love it!

What's on the horizon for us? Animals! Fresh food! Our own energy ... one can hope!  Here's the list:

1. I'll start with our newest additions ... almost!  Bunnies!  Why?  Well, two reasons, really.  For me, the primary reason is that rabbits provide absolutely wonderful fertilizer.  Second is that P really loves animals and is proving to be a really wonderful and responsible animal friend.  I think the addition of rabbits will give him even more responsibility than Pagan (our lab) and definitely lots of cuddly fun.

Yup, truly a chicken coop.  A bit beyond us, though!
2. Along similar lines will be chickens.  We can seriously go through a dozen eggs per day. If I could, I'd buy some today, but we'll wait a few months for the weather to warm up and to give us time to build the right coop.  One thought is to build something that will be inside the fenced paddock.  There are some small areas at the gates that might be enough space for a hen to get out, though. And, we have to decide about a rooster.  Personally, I'd say no, because I have been around roosters and am not usually pleased to hear them at sunrise.  And, I'm not sure how our neighbors would feel.  While most of our neighbors are about 3 acres away, we do have one neighbor whose house is almost directly across from our driveway.  But, they have malamutes so we get to enjoy lots of howling (truly, we enjoy it!).  They, and our other neighbors, may not actually mind.

3. Horses.  Like chickens, I'd buy them tonight if I could.  But, we have to be responsible and spend much more time researching the cost to feed them in our area.  We also need to build stalls.  We have a hay barn, so that's set and the menfolk are confident that it won't be a huge cost or hassle to build something that will work AND will be moveable.  In the meantime, we're planning on taking P for a horse ride in a few weeks and also hoping that one of our neighbors will be willing to let us get some practice taking care of their horses (almost all of the neighbors on our street have horses).  Adding a donkey might be a good thought for protecting the chickens as well.  Again, have to figure out that hay cost.  Fortunately, we have an amazing friend who was raised with (not by lol) horses and is not only willing, but insistent that she help us with everything .. now we just need to get her to move in!

This is about exactly my dream.  Possible? Not sure :/
4.  A hoophouse greenhouse to improve our growing season of something insane like 30 days.  This will be one of the first big projects and I'm sure there will be an entire post (or more) detailing the construction.  We'll be doing raised beds inside which will be something new for me.  In fact, tomorrow, B and I will be doing some very serious plans so that we can get a good estimate for the cost.  The goal is to start building it in March, so that we can start planting in April.  We are currently looking at approximately 16' wide by 32' long.  The dimensions will definitely depend on the easiest way to make it.

5.  Some type of wind turbine and solar panels to at least control the well pump and the wind turbine generator.  This part is far over my head, but B's dad seems to have a bit of a grasp on both.  My one concern is that I've heard of neighbors being upset with the look of wind turbines.  Granted we live far in the country, so I'm hoping that it wouldn't be a problem ... we'll see!


I can't think of anything else right now, but that's a good list, I think!

Oh, I found this very cool website.  She's called the Garden Girl and so far it seems like a site for urban gardening.  We, of course, do have much more space than an urban gardener would, but the tips and info translates across whatever space you have.  It's a lot of fun, so check it out!

So, happy homesteading!