Last week, monkey and I headed south to spend some time with my parents and our Havasuvian friends. The last few weeks have been pretty stressful on the homestead. I really do need to blog more so that I don't have these long updates! The bunnies are all well. I can't believe how cute those little ones are! The horses are well, but that's been a big part of the stress.
We have been struggling with what we should do with our filly. I have been spending a lot of time researching different training methods. I have found 2 that I think fit not only my personality, but also what I'm expecting from my relationship with the horses. That being said, I'm still learning and will undoubtedly find new ways. I know that I could have trained her. I know that I could have brought her out of her fear and mistrust of humans to a place where she'd be a fantastic horse. She's already so sweet. But, I also knew that riding a horse for the first time could be dangerous, especially since I am so inexperienced. I have needed another back surgery for about 7 years now and was never happy with my doctors in the Army. Now we don't have health insurance, so a bad fall could be pretty bad for us. Not to mention the extra money another horse costs. We found a few people that we were happy with, but things would fall through at the last minute and I'd go back to thinking we should keep her.
We did find her a home and I'm very happy with the place we chose. I'm looking forward to going to visit her next week to see how she's doing. I'm pretty confident that we're going to see a very different horse!
Anyway, I've needed this break. I've been missing my own socialization! I've needed some time to sit and think about where we are and where we're going. We seemed to have a lot of motivation those first few months in the forest, but lately, most of that has gone to the horses. They will still need lots and lots of time and attention, but I do need to bring some of that back to devote back to our home and family.
So, the goal is to return back to doing homeschool at least 3 times a week. I need to call the local 4-H chapter on Monday and hopefully get monkey started into that soon. I need to get into a very strict schedule with housecleaning. I don't need my house to be pristine, but I really hate having to do things in a last-minute situation. I hate hearing, "I don't have socks" or "monkey doesn't have a shirt". I need to get back to doing laundry every morning. My house stays fairly clean, but my biggest cleaning pet peeve is the kitchen. If my kitchen gets messy, it's like my world falls apart LOL So, that needs to be a priority.
Well, we've had a week back in the city life and it has been wonderful! But, I'm ready to get back to the homestead. The only way to make it better would be if I could pick the Moon up (our metaphysical-ey store) and all our friends/family and bring them back with us!! Now THAT would make life perfect!
Tomorrow night we are celebrating the full moon ritual. I will have to share how that is along with a few other things that we've done while here before the weekend is up. :)
Happy Homesteading!
Friday, April 6, 2012
Friday, March 23, 2012
Update on my buns ... ha!
I have to work on pictures. My phone bites and it ate all of my pictures, so I'll try and handle that tomorrow. I am feeling like I'm in a strange place right now. I've had a hard time recently being away from friends and family, but I'm trying to turn things around.
Anyway, so updates. On March 6th, Lilo started pulling her fur and that afternoon she had 5 kits. I was real nervous about how things would go; whether or not she would be in a position to be a good mama. Within the first 24 hours, we lost one kit. After a week we lost another one and then a week after that we lost the third. There are two left, one is super big, both are super furry and pure white! Eyes are open and they've made their way over the barrier, looking for food and exploring. I'll try and add in pictures of the cuties tomorrow!
The horse sitch. Well, B decided to keep Rhia for himself. I searched for a couple of weeks to trade her and then he decided to hang on to her. I spent another week looking for an older horse that would be calm and give me an opportunity to regain my confidence. I found an older gelding a couple hours south of us who was working in an equine program. He's a thoroughbred and a former jumper. (Please don't let him decide he'd like to regain his former jumping glory!! lol) He's a little underweight and seems to have a bit of a joint problem, but I'm hoping that the extra weight and some supplements will do the trick.
We had a HUGE snow storm last weekend and it came on FAST! We ended up with about 2 feet over a couple of days. Let me tell you it was beautiful, but the horses weren't overally happy. McD was frozen and the highway was closed, so we had no shot at getting to Flagstaff to buy him a blanket. So, we improvised and took a blanket we had here, sewed a tarp onto it and then B did some fancy work and sewed straps on so that it would all fit him well. And, it did! It definitely kept him warm, he stopped shivering immediately. Now we are contending with a super muddy pasture. Sigh.
Anyway, so updates. On March 6th, Lilo started pulling her fur and that afternoon she had 5 kits. I was real nervous about how things would go; whether or not she would be in a position to be a good mama. Within the first 24 hours, we lost one kit. After a week we lost another one and then a week after that we lost the third. There are two left, one is super big, both are super furry and pure white! Eyes are open and they've made their way over the barrier, looking for food and exploring. I'll try and add in pictures of the cuties tomorrow!
![]() |
| Oak Creek Canyon-ish, Arizona |
![]() |
| My McDreamy |
We had a HUGE snow storm last weekend and it came on FAST! We ended up with about 2 feet over a couple of days. Let me tell you it was beautiful, but the horses weren't overally happy. McD was frozen and the highway was closed, so we had no shot at getting to Flagstaff to buy him a blanket. So, we improvised and took a blanket we had here, sewed a tarp onto it and then B did some fancy work and sewed straps on so that it would all fit him well. And, it did! It definitely kept him warm, he stopped shivering immediately. Now we are contending with a super muddy pasture. Sigh.
![]() |
| One of our views driving from our house through the Kaibab National Forest |
![]() |
| View from our front porch after the first snowfall. |
Monday, February 27, 2012
Whoa Nelly .. erm Rhia!
So, yesterday I was run over by a truck. Wait, no, it just feels like I was. I took my lovely Rhia out for a ride yesterday afternoon. My father-in-law was going to hold the lead rope and walk with me, but B saddled and bridled her for me and forgot. We should've made the change, but we shrugged it off. My cinch slipped (the part that pretty much holds the saddle on) and her bit somehow loosened. A lot of very dumb mistakes ... MY mistakes, MY fault. Ugh. I am signing up for riding lessons (or seeing if my neighbor down the road would like the job) this week. I need it and I know that I should've done many, many things differently over the past couple of weeks. I got excited and jumped in. But, here's my defense. When you are making huge changes in your life, even if it's things you've thought about for many years, you have to sometimes take a risk. Sometimes those risks are the right choice and sometimes they aren't.
Anyway, so B's dad and I set off. When we brought her out she was mowing the grass like she'd been starving! lol But, the second I got into the saddle, she brought her head up and went. I didn't have to cluck at her, use my heels or anything. She knew just what to do! She kept turning her head to the left, but the neighbors horses were making a ruckus, so I didn't think much of it. I also had this ... feeling ... like she was desperately trying to keep herself from running. But, as this was the first time I'd ridden a horse other than on a trail ride, I thought maybe it was just her strength or something.
Nope, she was wanting to run.
We turned onto the road and after a minute she took off. She made a sharp left onto the dirt and grass aiming for a fence. At the moment she turned, the saddle slipped a little and I thought ... I need to get off this horse NOW! I didn't have the time to make a nice dismount (lol), so I pushed my left foot most of the way out of the stirrup, kicked my right leg over and hoped for the best. I think I took the brunt of the fall with my shoulder. I turned and it was like a movie ... I just saw hooves pawing in the air. I rolled to one side praying it was the right way and she came down on the side and took off. Apparently she turned her body mid-air to miss me (B's parents were right behind us). She took off and tried to go home, but B was standing there (after seeing her go by minus me lol) and it scared her, so she went off down the road. Neighbors there were able to catch her and re-saddle her by the time Ben got down there. She had zero issue being re-saddled and no worries with Ben.
I ran in, cleaned my face up and ran right back out to help walk her back. I wanted her to know that I wasn't mad at her and really that I was thankful that she tried not to hurt me. We let her relax for a bit and then haltered her back up and took her out to the backyard to graze for a treat. She has actually hurt me quite a bit since because it seems like she just wants to be right next to me! This morning she nuzzled my shoulder and I had to bite my lip ... which is cut, so that made me want to yell too!! HA!
Saying all of that, I'm still thinking that she's too much for me. Oddly enough, falling yesterday and how it all worked out makes it harder for me to think about selling her. But, I suppose I have to be very honest about what is best for everyone. The past week or so has been extremely stressful on me and my marriage. Thankfully, we both know each other so well that even though it's heated sometimes, we make it just fine. I would really like to be more relaxed, feel confident and actually gain some (less painful) experience. So, we'll see where this road goes. I won't make a quick decision and I will be cautious about making sure she goes to a good home, if that's what we decide.
Oh, and if this wind stops, I will get back on her ... with some extra precautions. Like bubble wrap.
Happy Homesteading!
Anyway, so B's dad and I set off. When we brought her out she was mowing the grass like she'd been starving! lol But, the second I got into the saddle, she brought her head up and went. I didn't have to cluck at her, use my heels or anything. She knew just what to do! She kept turning her head to the left, but the neighbors horses were making a ruckus, so I didn't think much of it. I also had this ... feeling ... like she was desperately trying to keep herself from running. But, as this was the first time I'd ridden a horse other than on a trail ride, I thought maybe it was just her strength or something.
Nope, she was wanting to run.
We turned onto the road and after a minute she took off. She made a sharp left onto the dirt and grass aiming for a fence. At the moment she turned, the saddle slipped a little and I thought ... I need to get off this horse NOW! I didn't have the time to make a nice dismount (lol), so I pushed my left foot most of the way out of the stirrup, kicked my right leg over and hoped for the best. I think I took the brunt of the fall with my shoulder. I turned and it was like a movie ... I just saw hooves pawing in the air. I rolled to one side praying it was the right way and she came down on the side and took off. Apparently she turned her body mid-air to miss me (B's parents were right behind us). She took off and tried to go home, but B was standing there (after seeing her go by minus me lol) and it scared her, so she went off down the road. Neighbors there were able to catch her and re-saddle her by the time Ben got down there. She had zero issue being re-saddled and no worries with Ben.
I ran in, cleaned my face up and ran right back out to help walk her back. I wanted her to know that I wasn't mad at her and really that I was thankful that she tried not to hurt me. We let her relax for a bit and then haltered her back up and took her out to the backyard to graze for a treat. She has actually hurt me quite a bit since because it seems like she just wants to be right next to me! This morning she nuzzled my shoulder and I had to bite my lip ... which is cut, so that made me want to yell too!! HA!
Saying all of that, I'm still thinking that she's too much for me. Oddly enough, falling yesterday and how it all worked out makes it harder for me to think about selling her. But, I suppose I have to be very honest about what is best for everyone. The past week or so has been extremely stressful on me and my marriage. Thankfully, we both know each other so well that even though it's heated sometimes, we make it just fine. I would really like to be more relaxed, feel confident and actually gain some (less painful) experience. So, we'll see where this road goes. I won't make a quick decision and I will be cautious about making sure she goes to a good home, if that's what we decide.
Oh, and if this wind stops, I will get back on her ... with some extra precautions. Like bubble wrap.
Happy Homesteading!
Saturday, February 25, 2012
Life is draining!
I knew life would be harder, with a lot of amazing rewards. I just didn't realize HOW hard it could be! We had a major answer to prayer, calls to the universe, etc. Last week my sister-in-law left for Oregon where she got a job. Yes! The trip wasn't the easiest for my in-laws, but we're all hoping things pay off in the end. They took her so that they could pick up a '66 Chevy pick up truck. It's caused a few headaches so far, but it all seems like it's starting to work out. Another call in to the universe is in order! It looks like Bella's truck from Twilight (though, my brother-in-law pointed out some difference about a step up or something ... whatever ... lol) and I can totally see taking it out for a date night spin sometime! Too bad we don't seem to have a drive-in movie theater here, I mean, how perfect?!
While they were gone, my wonderful hubby turned 27. So in love with him, still! In a couple of weeks we'll celebrate our 7th anniversary AND, around the same time we celebrate 9 years together. NINE! Crazy. I feel like we just met and fell in love and I also feel like we've been a part of each other forever. He is the piece I was always missing. Add in parents that I absolutely enjoy sharing a home with and I am lucky. Oh, and don't forget that little monkey of ours! I truly don't know what I did to deserve it, but I'm not going to mention it!
My mother-in-law's birthday was a few days after B's and monkey and I made her a chocolate mousse cake. We used my brand new mixer (that I LURVE) and had a lot of fun learning about directions and measurements. We talked a lot about how we have to do things in a certain order and not just throw it all in at once. :) He did great and let me tell ya, that kid loves to cook!
| and clean ... |
| ... and clean some more ... |
| and I'm always happy to get a nice smile from my love! |
As for farm life, well, it's been trying lately. The first week with Rhia went really well. I groomed her every day and took her out for a short ride. She was a little pushy for treats, but that first week I just brushed it off. And then she decided that I should have brought treats during one of our walks and she reached back to bite me and then turned and knocked me over with her hip. I have been desperately trying to keep things from crashing this last week. I've tried to go in every day and be as confident as I can be (but, I'm not a confident or self-assured person ... the thousand pounds she has on me doesn't help). B ran her the other day for about 20 minutes and she settled down quite a bit that day and we ran both horses again today. She's gotten much more dominant over Lilly, my assumption is that because I'm not letting her assert dominance over me any more, she's asserting it where she can.
I worked with her for a bit today while B worked with Lilly, but I can only do it for so long. If she starts to get pushy it is usually my cue to make an exit. Today, B had Lilly tied up so he could work on brushing her, so I couldn't just leave (Rhia would have got into the middle, which isn't the safest place for B or Lilly for that matter). I worked on staying calm and collected before B's mom came in and worked with her. She did nip at her, but M is so much more confident than I am. I am hoping that a good friend of mine is coming to help me out for a few days early next week. I miss her tons anyway, so it'll be really great if she can make it.
Oh, and added to all of that, it looks like Miss Lilo is nesting. So, looks like we'll have a few more little bunnies arriving soon. We're all trying to watch over her, make sure she has lots of food and water, not to mention treats, so that she has a better start this time.
And, that's it from the farm! Happy Homesteading!
Monday, February 13, 2012
And the farm grows by two!
It has been a BUSY few days here at the newbie farm! Friday was a very long day for B and his parents and his new little mare. They drove down to Phoenix and picked up a saddle for me and then made their way out to the farm his horse was being kept at. P decided her name should be Princess Lillifee, after one of his favorite movies, Pinktopia. We call her Lilly and oddly we happened upon a pink bucket out behind the garage and on it says "Princess"! She loaded perfectly, however, she is definitely not broke to ride. In fact, it took us more than an hour to detach her lead rope. The halter will be staying on for a bit until she let us take it off. She is definitely making strides though. She loves to eat, which is great because she's a touch on the thin side. At first she would jump if we tried to touch her, but B gave her a good scratch on her nose today and he didn't even give her a treat first. I actually have to shout "back" several times to get her to let me in to the enclosure because she crowds me for treats! So funny!
On Saturday we went the other way and picked up this gorgeous girl for me! She is young, but gentle and should be perfect for me. I'm still working on a name for her. I'm thinking of Rhiannon, Rhia for short. I will have to work on my own demeanor, because she is a little pushy and will dig against my coat for treats! Silly girl! She isn't completely on my side yet, but the apples are helping! Earlier today she didn't want me to pet her face, but would reluctantly let me scratch her neck. By the evening she was much better about her face!
So, Friday was the Lilly trip, Saturday was the "Rhia" trip (and several hours working on the truck's suspension :/) and today ... well, today was a rush to make some temporary fencing so that the girls could get to the shelter because ... snow is here once again! Gorgeous outside! They seemed perfectly fine when it snowed during the day and played around in it even after they'd been in the shelter. I'm sure they're cuddled up in there now, though! Oh, and they get along so well! Mine is the dominant, even though she wasn't at her old home. But, she's bigger and a little older than Lilly, so it's not a surprise. Today she was herding Lilly, trying to get her to go into the shelter. (We assume, of course ... I haven't learned to speak horse yet lol) and Lilly would go toward the shelter and then take off the other way, so mine would head on back to get her! Man, watching them run and play was absolutely breathtaking!
One HUGE help over the past few days was my mom!! We haven't seen her in about a month and she just got home from a cruise with her best friend. Things would not have gone as well as they have if it hadn't been for her. We are so blessed that she and P have such a special relationship. I know he's loved seeing her and hopefully it'll only be a short time until her next visit!
I sit in awe of my life and my blessings!
Happy Homesteading!


On Saturday we went the other way and picked up this gorgeous girl for me! She is young, but gentle and should be perfect for me. I'm still working on a name for her. I'm thinking of Rhiannon, Rhia for short. I will have to work on my own demeanor, because she is a little pushy and will dig against my coat for treats! Silly girl! She isn't completely on my side yet, but the apples are helping! Earlier today she didn't want me to pet her face, but would reluctantly let me scratch her neck. By the evening she was much better about her face!
So, Friday was the Lilly trip, Saturday was the "Rhia" trip (and several hours working on the truck's suspension :/) and today ... well, today was a rush to make some temporary fencing so that the girls could get to the shelter because ... snow is here once again! Gorgeous outside! They seemed perfectly fine when it snowed during the day and played around in it even after they'd been in the shelter. I'm sure they're cuddled up in there now, though! Oh, and they get along so well! Mine is the dominant, even though she wasn't at her old home. But, she's bigger and a little older than Lilly, so it's not a surprise. Today she was herding Lilly, trying to get her to go into the shelter. (We assume, of course ... I haven't learned to speak horse yet lol) and Lilly would go toward the shelter and then take off the other way, so mine would head on back to get her! Man, watching them run and play was absolutely breathtaking!
One HUGE help over the past few days was my mom!! We haven't seen her in about a month and she just got home from a cruise with her best friend. Things would not have gone as well as they have if it hadn't been for her. We are so blessed that she and P have such a special relationship. I know he's loved seeing her and hopefully it'll only be a short time until her next visit!
I sit in awe of my life and my blessings!
Happy Homesteading!
Thursday, February 9, 2012
Flipped around, upside down!
Today was a pretty awful day that seems to have turned out okay. I won't share the sordid story, but our taxes took a turn for the worse. We hadn't expected to get anything back, so we were shocked two weeks ago when we thought we were getting back a substantial amount. We went from thinking horses would come in the summer to thinking we'd have them ... well ... this week LOL What little girl doesn't grow up wanting a horse? I did, but my mom is severely allergic, so I never even uttered, "Daddy, can I have a pony?" ha! So, when we started this big move and found this house, the distant little-girl wish started to form into something that could actually be real. I have learned SO much about horses over the last couple of weeks. So, let's start at the beginning of this journey.
Almost two weeks ago, we came home from dinner giddy about finding horses. We searched through CraigsList and a few different horse classified websites. We knew that even with our taxes that we were still looking for a deal. When I saw the first horse listed for $87,000 I almost fell over! Because of the high hay prices right now, finding a deal isn't as difficult as it once was, I'm guessing. But, I did decide that I needed to be realistic about finding a horse that was calm and patient with a beginner. B wanted a horse with some spirit that would give him a challenge. I was surprised when I found two horses at the same home with those exact specifications. An Arabian (the one in the previous post) and an older Quarterhorse who was amazing with kids and beginners. We set up an appointment to go and see them .. and then right after the owner told us that her daughter (who turned out to be 3 :/ ... ) decided to keep the older horse. Again, fortunately, I found another listing for a beginner horse, a Tennessee Walking Horse (the black horse in the previous post), in the same town.
First house, the Arabian ... it was a strange experience. The owner seemed experienced, but she was making very strange decisions. Finances weren't allowing her to feed the horses well, yet she was letting her 3 year old decide whether they'd keep one of the horses. Very sad. The Arab was extremely underfed. The QH was also thin, but not quite as bad. B decided that even though the Arab would need a lot of work to bring back to a healthy weight, he just couldn't leave him in that situation. We were even trying to figure out if there was a way to generate some quick money so that we could get him sooner because she told me that she was going to take the horses to her mom's so they'd have weeds and grass (not much in this area) to eat. A couple of days ago, I contacted her and she told me that the horse had colicked the previous night. I'm sure she was hoping that by the time we'd talked again he'd be better and she wouldn't have to tell us. We decided that the mounting problems were just beyond us. That has been a very hard decision.
Backing up to the TWH I looked at ... oh boy was that FUN! Her owner hadn't brought a saddle, so she suggested I ride her bareback. I haven't been on a horse in maybe 10 years (until that morning) and I have never ridden bareback! I was nervous, but it was such a great experience! It was fun to see just how easy it can be to ride a horse who is totally nonchalant about a newbie! I did wonder how on earth Lady Godiva did it ... not the most comfy ways to ride a horse! But, I'd do it again just for that amazing and close feeling with your horse. She and I have kept in contact, but ... the tax woes struck and there's just no way I can afford her.
I cried ... truly, I did. In fact, I cried the day we met her, I cried the day the owner told me she could be mine and I definitely cried today. Broke my heart. I really hope (I'm sure, honestly) that she'll find a great new home.
Anyway, we had (and, I suppose, still have) a huge decision to make. Do we save for the next several months to buy horses or do we try and find horses that need re-homing because of financial issues. We spent hours today pouring over ads and calling about horses. I am SO thankful to my friend Amie for sharing a bazillion questions with me to ask the owners. Especially in this situation I've been able to weed out a lot of horses that would definitely not work for us. I've still been pretty positive that I need a horse who is good for beginners. And, I found one! Oddly, she's younger, but a good beginner horse. Her owner is having some problems and needs to re-home. We had a long talk and this horse is fantastic with kids, super easy and sounds like a love. She's beautiful too!
Now for B ... this is our riskier decision. We found a lady who rescued a horse from a family who lost their home. She has several of her own horses and her husband has told her that if she isn't able to find a home for the mare this weekend, that she'll have to send him to the sale barn (think that's what it's called lol my understand is that it's like an auction and that most likely the outcome will be slaughter). The scary part is that the contact, D, knows very little about the horse. The mare was a little skittish the first day, but got over that quickly when she realized that D had food. D tells me that now the mare follows her around every time she goes out to the pasture. She also has puts dominant mare out with the rescue and she's done fine, definitely a submissive personality. She's able to pet her, so my hope is that after some time she'll trust us and happily be a part of our little farm. We saw a few mustangs the other day that were supposedly "mostly" broke. When B slowly walked toward one, he went backing up like crazy and wanted nothing to do with any of us. Knowing that she'll come for food makes me cautiously optimistic. Oh, and the crazy thing is that, while she's a little thin, she doesn't look too bad. She is a beauty!
I'm having trouble uploading her pictures, so I'll edit them in later!
OH! I forgot about Zig! So, this lady emailed me the other morning and asked if we would have room for her horse. He's kind of a senior, but he's still good for a ride up the street. He just needs some attention and she's not able to give it anymore. She's going to pay for his hay and he'll be B's mom's horse (and P's, since he should be perfect for a child). We talked for a long time about what we'll do if she doesn't follow through on buying his hay and my in-laws have decided that they'll be more than happy to take care of him. He'll be fantastic for B's mom, she is in need of a good "healing" animal and this just seems like the answer we've been waiting for. And, get this ... she's giving us his round pen, his corral and his 2 horse trailer! I mean ... nothing is absolutely set yet, but she's coming by on Saturday. She's had Zig since birth and she's asked if she'll be able to come and see him (we've said yes, of course). I think we'll all be a good fit! This could all be some very huge answers that we've been all asking (most of us while we are gazing at the moon lol).
I've learned about horse gaits, saddle trees, tack, what kind of hay is fattening and how to actually fatten a horse up in a healthy way. Today my lesson was that even when it just seems impossible, we are still moving toward our purpose.
Almost two weeks ago, we came home from dinner giddy about finding horses. We searched through CraigsList and a few different horse classified websites. We knew that even with our taxes that we were still looking for a deal. When I saw the first horse listed for $87,000 I almost fell over! Because of the high hay prices right now, finding a deal isn't as difficult as it once was, I'm guessing. But, I did decide that I needed to be realistic about finding a horse that was calm and patient with a beginner. B wanted a horse with some spirit that would give him a challenge. I was surprised when I found two horses at the same home with those exact specifications. An Arabian (the one in the previous post) and an older Quarterhorse who was amazing with kids and beginners. We set up an appointment to go and see them .. and then right after the owner told us that her daughter (who turned out to be 3 :/ ... ) decided to keep the older horse. Again, fortunately, I found another listing for a beginner horse, a Tennessee Walking Horse (the black horse in the previous post), in the same town.
First house, the Arabian ... it was a strange experience. The owner seemed experienced, but she was making very strange decisions. Finances weren't allowing her to feed the horses well, yet she was letting her 3 year old decide whether they'd keep one of the horses. Very sad. The Arab was extremely underfed. The QH was also thin, but not quite as bad. B decided that even though the Arab would need a lot of work to bring back to a healthy weight, he just couldn't leave him in that situation. We were even trying to figure out if there was a way to generate some quick money so that we could get him sooner because she told me that she was going to take the horses to her mom's so they'd have weeds and grass (not much in this area) to eat. A couple of days ago, I contacted her and she told me that the horse had colicked the previous night. I'm sure she was hoping that by the time we'd talked again he'd be better and she wouldn't have to tell us. We decided that the mounting problems were just beyond us. That has been a very hard decision.
Backing up to the TWH I looked at ... oh boy was that FUN! Her owner hadn't brought a saddle, so she suggested I ride her bareback. I haven't been on a horse in maybe 10 years (until that morning) and I have never ridden bareback! I was nervous, but it was such a great experience! It was fun to see just how easy it can be to ride a horse who is totally nonchalant about a newbie! I did wonder how on earth Lady Godiva did it ... not the most comfy ways to ride a horse! But, I'd do it again just for that amazing and close feeling with your horse. She and I have kept in contact, but ... the tax woes struck and there's just no way I can afford her.
I cried ... truly, I did. In fact, I cried the day we met her, I cried the day the owner told me she could be mine and I definitely cried today. Broke my heart. I really hope (I'm sure, honestly) that she'll find a great new home.
Anyway, we had (and, I suppose, still have) a huge decision to make. Do we save for the next several months to buy horses or do we try and find horses that need re-homing because of financial issues. We spent hours today pouring over ads and calling about horses. I am SO thankful to my friend Amie for sharing a bazillion questions with me to ask the owners. Especially in this situation I've been able to weed out a lot of horses that would definitely not work for us. I've still been pretty positive that I need a horse who is good for beginners. And, I found one! Oddly, she's younger, but a good beginner horse. Her owner is having some problems and needs to re-home. We had a long talk and this horse is fantastic with kids, super easy and sounds like a love. She's beautiful too!Now for B ... this is our riskier decision. We found a lady who rescued a horse from a family who lost their home. She has several of her own horses and her husband has told her that if she isn't able to find a home for the mare this weekend, that she'll have to send him to the sale barn (think that's what it's called lol my understand is that it's like an auction and that most likely the outcome will be slaughter). The scary part is that the contact, D, knows very little about the horse. The mare was a little skittish the first day, but got over that quickly when she realized that D had food. D tells me that now the mare follows her around every time she goes out to the pasture. She also has puts dominant mare out with the rescue and she's done fine, definitely a submissive personality. She's able to pet her, so my hope is that after some time she'll trust us and happily be a part of our little farm. We saw a few mustangs the other day that were supposedly "mostly" broke. When B slowly walked toward one, he went backing up like crazy and wanted nothing to do with any of us. Knowing that she'll come for food makes me cautiously optimistic. Oh, and the crazy thing is that, while she's a little thin, she doesn't look too bad. She is a beauty!
I'm having trouble uploading her pictures, so I'll edit them in later!
OH! I forgot about Zig! So, this lady emailed me the other morning and asked if we would have room for her horse. He's kind of a senior, but he's still good for a ride up the street. He just needs some attention and she's not able to give it anymore. She's going to pay for his hay and he'll be B's mom's horse (and P's, since he should be perfect for a child). We talked for a long time about what we'll do if she doesn't follow through on buying his hay and my in-laws have decided that they'll be more than happy to take care of him. He'll be fantastic for B's mom, she is in need of a good "healing" animal and this just seems like the answer we've been waiting for. And, get this ... she's giving us his round pen, his corral and his 2 horse trailer! I mean ... nothing is absolutely set yet, but she's coming by on Saturday. She's had Zig since birth and she's asked if she'll be able to come and see him (we've said yes, of course). I think we'll all be a good fit! This could all be some very huge answers that we've been all asking (most of us while we are gazing at the moon lol).
I've learned about horse gaits, saddle trees, tack, what kind of hay is fattening and how to actually fatten a horse up in a healthy way. Today my lesson was that even when it just seems impossible, we are still moving toward our purpose.
Sunday, February 5, 2012
Live and learn
Just after my last entry, we sadly lost all of the kits. We aren't positive why, there are a lot of factors. Since we didn't know that she was pregnant, she was not only kept from making a nest, but she was also moved immediately after. For all we know, it could've been her first litter and she just didn't know what to do. More likely is that she was stressed from the situation. It seems like she suffocated the kits. Very sad, but hopefully things will be better next time.
We've kept them apart, however, there was some time right after birth that they were together. (I know what you're thinking, ladies!) Apparently they can immediately become pregnant again, so we're watching her carefully. If she doesn't deliver any kits by the 22nd or so, we'll put them back together for a bit and see if we can't get another litter. Anyway, it was a good lesson and monkey handled it very well (better than I did!).
What else is on the horizon? HORSES! Yes, we found 2 horses. Good prices and we each really were happy. B's is an Arabian and quite malnourished. Originally we were going to say no, but after some research and a couple of days thinking, he knew that leaving the horse in that situation wasn't an option. In fact, we'd get him today if we could.
We've kept them apart, however, there was some time right after birth that they were together. (I know what you're thinking, ladies!) Apparently they can immediately become pregnant again, so we're watching her carefully. If she doesn't deliver any kits by the 22nd or so, we'll put them back together for a bit and see if we can't get another litter. Anyway, it was a good lesson and monkey handled it very well (better than I did!).
What else is on the horizon? HORSES! Yes, we found 2 horses. Good prices and we each really were happy. B's is an Arabian and quite malnourished. Originally we were going to say no, but after some research and a couple of days thinking, he knew that leaving the horse in that situation wasn't an option. In fact, we'd get him today if we could.
As for me ... oh, horsey love!! She's a Tennessee Walking Horse, very sweet and perfect for a newbie like me. The owner hadn't brought the mare's saddle, so she tossed me up and I rode the horse bareback. It was seriously amazing! Neither of us can stop thinking about these two.
Wednesday, January 18, 2012
And We Grow
Our family has grown to ... TWELVE! Yikes! The doe we got last week was apparently pregnant. Wish they would have told us, but thankfully B went down first thing in the morning to check them. The kits had been pushed out, either by the buck (Stitch) or by the mama (Lilo) trying to protect them. The other fortunate thing was that we'd finished the big hutch yesterday and it has a box for the babies. We got them moved over and we're hopeful that all four will survive! P is overjoyed except he doesn't understand why he can't hold them yet.
Lilo seems to be pretty calm and we think she's fed them. B starts school today, so P and I are going to head in with him to pick up a few things for her. And, we'll need to build another hutch in the next month or so to separate all of the bunnies out. I think 6 bunnies is plenty!! I'll get better pictures soon to share, but here is one of Lilo in the box feeding the kits! :)
| Mama feeding her littles |
| Our 4 little kits |
So, today has been a big learning day. I learned that bucks don't normally kill their young ... on purpose, that is. Often when they do kill their young it's because they've trampled them or shoved them somewhere unsafe (like onto the basement tile :/) because they're trying to mate again. Horny little devils! After sharing this information with the rest of the family, I found out that Stitch was indeed mating poor Lilo. Which means that it is entirely possibly the poor doe is already pregnant again. We will be making another hutch in the next few days, maybe two of them, so that we can separate the kits out as the grow and to also leave this hutch open for Lilo if she does have another litter. Looks like we may have some Easter bunnies to share! There are a few kids on our street that may enjoy a bunny and, if not, we'll try and find other homes (in the event there are more growing).
I learned how to feel (palpate) for the babies, though, I'm not sure if I'll be able to feel it the first time, we'll see. But, that might help to know. And, this time we'll at least be aware and watching her behavior in about 28 days which is when she should start nesting.
I thought I'd share in a little more detail how the last few days have been. Since we've only had the buns for a week, they're still getting used to us. P spends a lot of time downstairs with them so even though he's a lot more rambunctious than any of the rest of us, they are far more comfortable with him. While they run from me, I usually don't have too much trouble catching them to put them back into their cage. However, the past couple of nights, Lilo has been a terror. In fact, 2 nights ago she was so adamant about not letting me near her, she ran right into the leg of a table. I was surprised she didn't knock herself out and left her for another hour. Then, yesterday afternoon, P came upstairs and said that she'd ripped up a book (just an old book from his pre-k that was only paper). She had shredded it in a corner next to a bookcase in the schoolroom and I should have known. But, I just assumed that she was trying to make a nest, not for babies, but because she didn't want to go back into the cage. I cleaned it all up and tucked them in for the night.
This morning B's sister saw the food container in the middle of the cage, empty. She came up and told Ben and he went down to get it. When he got to the cage he saw the babies outside on the floor. Trying to be funny (and I think a little excited ;)) he ran upstairs and meant to slide into the living room to get his mom. But, he overshot it and fell! So silly! She got downstairs and pulled Lilo out and put her into a little canvas container I have for odds and ends. Lilo had pulled plenty of her fur out, but it was also pushed out. So, M got the babies tucked in near mom and covered them up with the fur. Surprisingly, Lilo seemed fairly content in the little container for the time it took to get the hutch in.
B came up to wake me up to help ... at first I thought he was saying there was a storm and the hutch had blown away. But, then I realized what he was saying and P woke up to hear there were new babies! B and his dad had to take off the nesting box trying to get the hutch downstairs. It was turning in to a mess and I realized there was just no point. The hutch could find a place in the living room. And it did! Maybe not the most stylish piece of living room furniture, but we're all enthralled with these little creatures that it is the absolute perfect spot for it!
Lilo is doing perfect. She's still pretty anxious, though, since we got her pregnant, it's hard to tell what her non-bred personality is yet. But, most important is that she isn't smothering the kits and she's eating. She's also been far more calm with me. She still jumps and sometimes hops off if I pet her, but she knows that I'm the one bringing her treats, so often she waits to see if I have food or not, if I do, she'll either eat it out of my hand or just go about her business while I set it out for her. The kits seem to be fed, though, I learned that her milk may not come in for up to 48 hrs and to give her that much time to see if they are getting fed. I've been told that their bellies should be slightly round and they shouldn't be wrinkly. But, I'm thinking that's relative right now. I mean, they're tiny and hairless ... how can they NOT be wrinkly!? So, we'll see how they're doing by tomorrow night and if they seem to be skinny, we'll hand feed them.
So, so cool!!! Welcome to the farm!! =D
Friday, January 13, 2012
They Say it Snows
There is, for some reason, a ton of metal, glass, screws, pipes, wood, etc, out in the yard. Mostly it seems to be in the firepit area and behind our garage. So, I cleared out behind the garage and then we started pulling all of the volcanic rock and flagstone that was around the massive pit. B shoveled all of the junk I couldn't pick up (small pieces) and we'll take it all to the dump. Tomorrow we're going to clear out a new, smaller fire pit (seriously, it was probably 8 feet in diameter, at least!). We also need to paint the bunny hutch and cover it in chicken wire. I'm thinking they'll go outside during the day for fresh air and sunshine and![]() |
| No, the ladder does not actually reach the roof ... |
Then, B had to climb up to the roof to take off the top of the chimney and clean it. Lately the smoke hasn't been going out unless it's been a windy day. No good! But, to see him up on the roof ... scary! Our house is covered with metal and two stories, not to mention the ground is very uneven and covered in rocks! Yikes! But, he was safe and the fireplace is working like it should ... phew!
Still working on a plan for the outside garden. We're thinking we can start the greenhouse sometime in March or so. I don't think it should take more than a couple of weekends to build, so hopefully we'll have our garden growing in April ... yes!
| Romaine and Butter lettuce growing away! |
Thursday, January 12, 2012
Meet the Buns!
![]() |
| Mommy, Lilo and P |
| Stitch (m) on the left, Lilo (f) on the right |
![]() |
| Lilo |
We are going to finish up the hutch tomorrow, BUT, I'm not so sure about leaving them outside. Completely outside is a no go because of our vast coyote population, but the garage isn't used for vehicles (except the motorcycle), so they'd be safe there. I'm just not sold on the idea. Maybe if we have 10 bunnies one day, but for now I can't see why they aren't good in the basement. We tried them in our room last night and me and Pagan jumped every time they made noise ... for different reasons, I'm sure! I was sure he'd go poking around the cage and I think he was sure of it too LOL So, no bedroom. But, he won't go downstairs and that is where P's toys are, so he likes it.
![]() |
| Stitch |
It was funny hearing P yelling, "Don't forget, Daddy, the poop goes in the compost!" LOL So funny!
Monday, January 9, 2012
Soap, soap, soap part 1
I thought I'd do a quick blog about the soaps I use. I've had a couple of people ask about it and I thought it was a blogging opportunity!
So, first off ... laundry detergent. You can find liquid recipes online, but I'm all about quick and easy. Liquid takes a bit longer to make, at least that's the impression I get from the recipes. And there's an extra step when you use it because it needs to be mixd up as the ingredients seperate. I've used this recipe for about 2 years now and I can honestly say I can't see myself ever going back. Our skin has adjusted and can't take the harsh chemicals anymore. So, here's the recipe:
1 cup borax
1 cup washing soda
1/2-1 bar fels naptha grated
All three can be found near the laundry detergent at supermarkets. You can substitute homemade soap or Zote for Fels Naptha. I've also seen recipes which use Ivory. Borax and washing soda are $2-3ish for each and about $1 for the Fels. I also add in about 1/2 cup oxi-clean because my child likes mud and hasn't figured out what the napkin on his lap is for. Honestly, he will hold the napkin and still wipe his mouth on his sleeve! So, while I might someday like to leave out the oxi-clean, the help with stains is necessary now. You can also add in a drop or two of an essential oil if you'd like. Tea tree is nice because of it's antibacterial properties or you could add something for a scent.
So, grate the soap, add all ingredients into some type of container with a lid (we use an empty folgers can), shake it up and use 1/8-1/4 cup per load. I usually double the recipe and for the 3 of us, I might have to make a new batch once a month. Oh, do not expect bubbles! I suggest filling your washer 1/4 to 1/2 full, add detergent and then let it fill a little more, if not the whole way, before adding clothes. It gives your detergent time to dissolve in the water.
Now for bar soap. First, you may want to have a peek at my soaping blog to see a bit of how I got started. If you have never soaped before, start with melt and pour soap. I buy my supplies from www.brambleberry.com. You can also get melt and pour soap from places like Hobby Lobby, though the quality is very different. Try it out, see if you like it. If you do, watch the soap tutorials on soapqueentv.com and make sure you learn a healthy respect for lye. Don't be afraid, though!
I am realizing that I'm just not going to get through the soaping instructions before I crash, so I'll aim to post a recipe and directions tomorrow!
Happy Full Moon!
So, first off ... laundry detergent. You can find liquid recipes online, but I'm all about quick and easy. Liquid takes a bit longer to make, at least that's the impression I get from the recipes. And there's an extra step when you use it because it needs to be mixd up as the ingredients seperate. I've used this recipe for about 2 years now and I can honestly say I can't see myself ever going back. Our skin has adjusted and can't take the harsh chemicals anymore. So, here's the recipe:
1 cup borax
1 cup washing soda
1/2-1 bar fels naptha grated
All three can be found near the laundry detergent at supermarkets. You can substitute homemade soap or Zote for Fels Naptha. I've also seen recipes which use Ivory. Borax and washing soda are $2-3ish for each and about $1 for the Fels. I also add in about 1/2 cup oxi-clean because my child likes mud and hasn't figured out what the napkin on his lap is for. Honestly, he will hold the napkin and still wipe his mouth on his sleeve! So, while I might someday like to leave out the oxi-clean, the help with stains is necessary now. You can also add in a drop or two of an essential oil if you'd like. Tea tree is nice because of it's antibacterial properties or you could add something for a scent.
So, grate the soap, add all ingredients into some type of container with a lid (we use an empty folgers can), shake it up and use 1/8-1/4 cup per load. I usually double the recipe and for the 3 of us, I might have to make a new batch once a month. Oh, do not expect bubbles! I suggest filling your washer 1/4 to 1/2 full, add detergent and then let it fill a little more, if not the whole way, before adding clothes. It gives your detergent time to dissolve in the water.
Now for bar soap. First, you may want to have a peek at my soaping blog to see a bit of how I got started. If you have never soaped before, start with melt and pour soap. I buy my supplies from www.brambleberry.com. You can also get melt and pour soap from places like Hobby Lobby, though the quality is very different. Try it out, see if you like it. If you do, watch the soap tutorials on soapqueentv.com and make sure you learn a healthy respect for lye. Don't be afraid, though!
I am realizing that I'm just not going to get through the soaping instructions before I crash, so I'll aim to post a recipe and directions tomorrow!
Happy Full Moon!
Wednesday, January 4, 2012
2012 ... whatcha got??
So, now it's time to talk about our goals ... YES! We have been headed here for quite a long time. We bought a house in Texas and made a safe decision, rather than the choice we truly had wanted. It wouldn't have been the right place anyway at the time. (To clarify, we bought our Texas house a few years ago and my point is that we took the safe choice with a new house in a subdivision rather than the house out in the country.) But, it does mean that we've been thinking and dreaming of this life for a while. This is one of those things that almost feels like an unattainable dream. In fact, it still does a bit! So, where is it we want to be next year? Where are we going and what's the point?Now, I'm not a big survivalist (can't promise I won't be in a year, though lol), but there is something that sounds really nice about living "off the grid" and you just never know when that zombie apocalypse is going to hit! LOL Not to mention that B and I are both people who care a lot about our environment. I'm feeling a little flighty (so much going on and to prepare for!), so let me break this down. In my last post I talked a little bit about what we've left behind. Tonight I'll share about the fantastic changes we are excited to make! First, what have we already done?
1. Recycling everything we can! This isn't a new thing, but we are far more conscious about it. Teaching P about why we recycle and what we recycle has brought it to the forefront of our minds which is amazing. We have a little red bucket just outside the kitchen and he absolutely loves to hop up onto the sink, rinse a pop can, and toss it into the bucket. We don't have a large enough pile yet, but eventually we'll turn them in (who knew you could get money back for them?! Not me! lol).
2. COMPOST!! Yippee! I have been looking forward to this for a very long time! We have a small garbage can next to our sink and in goes the coffee grounds and lots of (allowable) kitchen scraps. Then, (for the time being) it goes out into a large, black garbage can at the end of the day ... it's nearly full after a couple of months! I go out a couple of times per week with a big shovel and stir it up. Hopefully soon we'll have a compost area behind our garage (where the garden hoophouse will be) which will give us a much larger compost pile for our garden.
3. Heat with wood, something that was mentioned previously. Now, as residents here (have I mentioned yet that we basically live in a national forest??) we are allowed 5 cords of wood free. Beyond that we can purchase 10, I believe, permits for $20 which allow 4 cords, per permit. We think that the 5 cords will do us fine for the year ... possibly 6. The great thing is that the cords we cut from the permits can be sold. $150 per cord is actually a very good price, so I think we'll be doing some lumberjack weekends! Anyway, most of our heat comes from our fireplace. The heater goes on for about 10 minutes in the morning while the fire is started to pull the chill from the air. And, that's about it. We have small heaters in the four bedrooms we use and the two bathrooms, however, the bedroom heaters really aren't used much and usually bathroom heaters aren't on unless someone is showering. In fact, when the fireplace goes on around 4:30p, we have to cover half of our loft opening or the upstairs is sweltering!
4. Homemade soap and laundry detergent. Another item that isn't new to us. We've been using both for almost two years now. I forgot my laundry ingredients when we moved early in December and my mother-in-law had run out. It was a long two weeks until my parents came for Christmas. The first thing everyone looked for was the homemade detergent. Our skin was dryer and a couple of people were having skin irritation to the store detergent. It is amazing how our bodies had changed and no longer wanted anything to do with the chemicals (and my in-laws had only been consistently using my detergent for a couple of months). And, who would choose store-bought soap when they could use a bar of soap that was handmade?! I mean, I've had people buy my soap for $4 or more and I've bought a $6 bar of soap a time or two! It's worth it! It feels amazing and leaves your skin feeling gooood! Not to mention just how FUN it is to make soap. Making detergent isn't all that fun, but soaping .... *sigh* Love it!
What's on the horizon for us? Animals! Fresh food! Our own energy ... one can hope! Here's the list:
1. I'll start with our newest additions ... almost! Bunnies! Why? Well, two reasons, really. For me, the primary reason is that rabbits provide absolutely wonderful fertilizer. Second is that P really loves animals and is proving to be a really wonderful and responsible animal friend. I think the addition of rabbits will give him even more responsibility than Pagan (our lab) and definitely lots of cuddly fun.
![]() |
| Yup, truly a chicken coop. A bit beyond us, though! |
3. Horses. Like chickens, I'd buy them tonight if I could. But, we have to be responsible and spend much more time researching the cost to feed them in our area. We also need to build stalls. We have a hay barn, so that's set and the menfolk are confident that it won't be a huge cost or hassle to build something that will work AND will be moveable. In the meantime, we're planning on taking P for a horse ride in a few weeks and also hoping that one of our neighbors will be willing to let us get some practice taking care of their horses (almost all of the neighbors on our street have horses). Adding a donkey might be a good thought for protecting the chickens as well. Again, have to figure out that hay cost. Fortunately, we have an amazing friend who was raised with (not by lol) horses and is not only willing, but insistent that she help us with everything .. now we just need to get her to move in!
![]() |
| This is about exactly my dream. Possible? Not sure :/ |
5. Some type of wind turbine and solar panels to at least control the well pump and the wind turbine generator. This part is far over my head, but B's dad seems to have a bit of a grasp on both. My one concern is that I've heard of neighbors being upset with the look of wind turbines. Granted we live far in the country, so I'm hoping that it wouldn't be a problem ... we'll see!
I can't think of anything else right now, but that's a good list, I think!
Oh, I found this very cool website. She's called the Garden Girl and so far it seems like a site for urban gardening. We, of course, do have much more space than an urban gardener would, but the tips and info translates across whatever space you have. It's a lot of fun, so check it out!
So, happy homesteading!
Labels:
animals,
chickens,
energy,
gardening,
goals,
greenhouse,
horses,
soap,
solar energy,
wind energy
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)














