Monday, February 27, 2012

Whoa Nelly .. erm Rhia!

So, yesterday I was run over by a truck.  Wait, no, it just feels like I was.  I took my lovely Rhia out for a ride yesterday afternoon.  My father-in-law was going to hold the lead rope and walk with me, but B saddled and bridled her for me and forgot.  We should've made the change, but we shrugged it off.  My cinch slipped (the part that pretty much holds the saddle on) and her bit somehow loosened.  A lot of very dumb mistakes ... MY mistakes, MY fault.  Ugh.  I am signing up for riding lessons (or seeing if my neighbor down the road would like the job) this week.  I need it and I know that I should've done many, many things differently over the past couple of weeks.  I got excited and jumped in.  But, here's my defense.  When you are making huge changes in your life, even if it's things you've thought about for many years, you have to sometimes take a risk.  Sometimes those risks are the right choice and sometimes they aren't.

Anyway, so B's dad and I set off.  When we brought her out she was mowing the grass like she'd been starving! lol  But, the second I got into the saddle, she brought her head up and went.  I didn't have to cluck at her, use my heels or anything.  She knew just what to do!  She kept turning her head to the left, but the neighbors horses were making a ruckus, so I didn't think much of it.  I also had this ... feeling ... like she was desperately trying to keep herself from running.  But, as this was the first time I'd ridden a horse other than on a trail ride, I thought maybe it was just her strength or something.

Nope, she was wanting to run.

We turned onto the road and after a minute she took off.  She made a sharp left onto the dirt and grass aiming for a fence.  At the moment she turned, the saddle slipped a little and I thought ... I need to get off this horse NOW!  I didn't have the time to make a nice dismount (lol), so I pushed my left foot most of the way out of the stirrup, kicked my right leg over and hoped for the best.  I think I took the brunt of the fall with my shoulder.  I turned and it was like a movie ... I just saw hooves pawing in the air.  I rolled to one side praying it was the right way and she came down on the side and took off.  Apparently she turned her body mid-air to miss me (B's parents were right behind us).  She took off and tried to go home, but B was standing there (after seeing her go by minus me lol) and it scared her, so she went off down the road.  Neighbors there were able to catch her and re-saddle her by the time Ben got down there.  She had zero issue being re-saddled and no worries with Ben.

I ran in, cleaned my face up and ran right back out to help walk her back.  I wanted her to know that I wasn't mad at her and really that I was thankful that she tried not to hurt me.  We let her relax for a bit and then haltered her back up and took her out to the backyard to graze for a treat.  She has actually hurt me quite a bit since because it seems like she just wants to be right next to me!  This morning she nuzzled my shoulder and I had to bite my lip ... which is cut, so that made me want to yell too!!  HA!

Saying all of that, I'm still thinking that she's too much for me.  Oddly enough, falling yesterday and how it all worked out makes it harder for me to think about selling her.  But, I suppose I have to be very honest about what is best for everyone.  The past week or so has been extremely stressful on me and my marriage.  Thankfully, we both know each other so well that even though it's heated sometimes, we make it just fine.  I would really like to be more relaxed, feel confident and actually gain some (less painful) experience.  So, we'll see where this road goes.  I won't make a quick decision and I will be cautious about making sure she goes to a good home, if that's what we decide.

Oh, and if this wind stops, I will get back on her ... with some extra precautions.  Like bubble wrap.

Happy Homesteading!

No comments:

Post a Comment